Georges Bizet (1838–1875)

L’Arlésienne Suites 1 & 2, Op. 23

  1. Prélude
  2. Menuet
  3. Adagietto
  4. Carillon
  5. Pastorale
  6. Intermezzo
  7. Minuet
  8. Farandole

Konserthuset Stockholm, October 2014

About the Artists

Nathalie Stutzmann

Born in Suresnes, France in 1965, Nathalie Stutzmann is an accomplished singer and conductor. She is considered by many to be one of the outstanding musical personalities of our time.

Nathalie began the 2021-2022 season conducting the Atlanta Symphony Orchestra, Orchestre de Paris, Royal Stockholm Philharmonic, and the Philadelphia Orchestra, where she is the principal guest conductor. Other guest conducting highlights over the next season include performances with the London Symphony Orchestra, Hamburg NDR Elbphilharmonie Orchestra, Oslo Philharmonic, Helsinki Radio Symphony, Minnesota Orchestra, Pittsburgh Symphony, and San Francisco Symphony.

Nathalie has just been announced as Atlanta Symphony’s Music Director from the start of the 2022/23 season, becoming only the second woman in history to lead a major American orchestra (Marin Alsop led the Baltimore Symphony Orchestra from 2007 to 2021). In addition, this season Nathalie begins her position as the Philadelphia Orchestra’s new Principal Guest Conductor. The three-year tenure will involve a regular presence in the orchestra’s subscription series in Philadelphia and at its Summer festivals in Vail and Saratoga.

Royal Stockholm Philharmonic Orchestra

The Royal Stockholm Philharmonic Orchestra was founded in 1902. Konserthuset Stockholm has been its home since 1926. The orchestra gives around 100 concerts annually and participates in festivities associated with the Nobel Prize Award Ceremony.