Concerto for violin and orchestra in D major, Op. 77

Johannes Brahms (1833 – 1897)

NDR Radiophilharmonie Orchestra ∙ Andrew Manze, conductor
Maria Ioudenitch, violin

I. Allegro non troppo
II. Adagio
III. Allegro giocoso, ma non troppo vivace

Großer Sendesaal of the NDR, Hanover, 10 October 2021

About the Artist

An American with a Russian heart and soul, Maria Ioudenitch was born in Balashov, Russia and grew up in Kansas City, where she studied with Ben Sayevich. She then continued her studies at the Curtis Institute of Music with Shmuel Ashkenasi and Pamela Frank, and the New England Conservatory with Miriam Fried.

Maria Ioudenitch’s recent solo engagements have included performances with the Utah Symphony, the Israel Camerata, the Kansas City Symphony, and Mariinsky Symphony Orchestra. Recent chamber music performances have taken her across South America with Roberto Diaz, and the New England area with Miriam Fried. Maria Ioudenitch was appointed Concertmaster of the Curtis Symphony Orchestra for 2016-2017, ending the season with a tour through Europe featuring Strauss’s “Ein Heldenleben”. This summer, she attended the Marlboro Music Festival.

Apart from classical music, Maria Ioudenitch adores jazz and visual art. Currently, her favorite artists are composer Robert Schumann, jazz pianist Oscar Peterson, and painter Remedíos Varo.