Piano Sonata No. 7 in D major, Op. 10 No. 3

Ludwig van Beethoven (1770–1827)
Grigory Sokolov, piano

Festival de La Roque d'Anthéron, 2015

About the Artist

Jazz critic Francis Davis has described two kinds of virtuosity: one in which the music is played as well as can be imagined, the other in which the playing is beyond anything one could have imagined. In my estimation, Russian pianist Grigory Sokolov is a virtuoso of the second kind.

To learn more about Sokolov, read “Last of the Titans” by British journalist Jessica Duchen.