This performance by pianist Zach Cheong took place on Saturday, September 9, 2023 at 3:00 pm. The concert was a presentation of the 2023 Curtis on Tour professional engagement series.


Composer Work Year
Johann Sebastian Bach French Suite No. 5, BWV 816 1725
Ludwig van Beethoven Piano Sonata No. 8 in C minor, Op. 13 “Pathétique” 1798
Toru Takemitsu Rain Tree Sketch 1982
Frédéric Chopin Mazurkas, Op. 17 1833
Ballade No. 4 in F minor, Op. 52 1842
Franz Liszt Paraphrase de concert sur Rigoletto, S. 434 1859

Full Program (PDF)

About the Artist

Zach Hoi Leong Cheong

Zach Hoi Leong Cheong

Hoi Leong (Zach) Cheong began his piano studies at the age of four with Ms. Lilik Sutiono. A Licentiate of the Royal Schools of Music and Fellowship Diploma holder of the London Trinity College, he has studied at the Hong Kong Academy for Performing Arts with Professor Gabriel Kwok for eight years under a scholarship from the Academy.

Zach is the winner of the Musicus Young Artists Audition (Hong Kong, 2022). Past awards include First Prize and the Special Excellence Prize in the 19th International Chopin Piano Competition in ASIA (Japan, 2018), and First Prize in the 81st Steinway and Sons International Youth Piano Competition (China, 2017). He was also a winner of the 2017 Hilton Head International Piano Competition.

Zach made his orchestral debut with the Macao Orchestra at the age of 9, and continued to collaborate with other orchestras, including Hilton Head Symphony, Macao Youth Symphony (Macau, Paris, Marseille), Trondheim Soloists (Norway), Shanghai Conservatory of Music Youth Orchestra and St. Paul’s Co-educational College Alumni Orchestra (Hong Kong). Zach is also a fervent chamber musician.

From 2018 to 2023, Zach was the Robert Ehrman Fellow at the Curtis Institute of Music in Philadelphia. While at Curtis, Zach studied with pianist Robert McDonald. Zach is currently working towards a masters degree in piano performance at The Juilliard School under the direction of Mr. McDonald.