Composer Work Year
Ludwig van Beethoven Violin Sonata No. 10 in G major, Op. 96 1812
Igor Stravinsky Divertimento 1934
Johannes Brahms Violin Sonata No. 2 in A major, Op. 100 1886

Full Program (PDF)

About the Artists

Sophie Wang

Violinist Sophie Wang has performed in the Carnegie Weill Recital Hall and has soloed with the South Carolina Philharmonic. In addition to winning concerto competitions, she has played with Schwob School of Music Philharmonic, South Carolina Philharmonic Youth Orchestra, and Huntsville Youth Orchestra.

An avid chamber musician, Sophie has collaborated with Wendy Warner, Charles Wetherbee, and James Dunham, and has also worked with the Borromeo String Quartet and members of the Shanghai and Brentano Quartets. She has been coached by Meng-Chieh Liu, Charles Neidich, Dimitri Murrath, Alexander Kobrin, Bonnie Hampton, and Boris Abramov.

Sophie has performed in masterclasses of Pamela Frank, Joseph Silverstein, Ani Kavafian, James Buswell, Lawrence Dutton, Mimi Zweig, Kevin Lawrence, and others. She has attended numerous music festivals including Taos School of Music, Sarasota Music Festival, New York String Orchestra Seminar, Bowdoin International Music Festival, Meadowmount School of Music, and more.

Sophie studied with Donald Weilerstein at the New England Conservatory in Boston, graduating with a Masters degree in Spring 2018. She earned her undergraduate degree at Columbus State University’s Schwob School of Music, under the tutelage of Sergiu Schwartz.

Alice Xu

Pianist Alice Chenyang Xu has performed as a soloist and chamber musician in the United States, Canada, Germany, and the Republic of China. She has collaborated with the Chicago Chamber Musicians (CCM) and has performed in Orchestra Hall at Chicago Symphony Center, the Dame Myra Hess Memorial Concert Series in Preston Bradley Hall at the Chicago Cultural Center, the Chicago Auditorium Theatre, Corbett Auditorium in Cincinnati, Hochschule Musik Hall in Leipzig, and in Boston’s Jordan Hall, where she recently performed with the Borromeo String Quartet. Chicago classical music station WFMT frequently broadcasts her performances.

Ms. Xu is the second prize winner of the 2004 Southern Missouri International Piano Competition and third prize winner in the 2nd SEILER International Piano Competition in Germany. She was awarded the Dorothy Hinton Congleton Memorial Presidential Scholarship for two consecutive years at NEC and selected as one of the two full- scholarship students at NEC to participate in The International Mendelssohn Academy at the Hochschule für Musik und Theatre in Leipzig, Germany.

Ms. Xu entered The Curtis Institute of Music in 2004. She studied with Seymour Lipkin and held the Yvonne K. Druian Fellowship. Xu continued her piano studies with Meng-Chieh Liu and Winston Choi at Roosevelt University Chicago College of Performing Arts in 2009 and studied under the tutelage of Wha-Kyung Byun and Russell Sherman at New England Conservatory. She is currently pursuing a Doctor for Musical Arts with Vivian Weilerstein at NEC.

Ms. Xu teaches at the Tufts University Community Music Program and actively performs with instrumentalists and vocalists in the Greater Boston area.