Composer Work Year
Johann Sebastian Bach Prelude and Fugue in F-sharp minor (WTC II), BWV 883 1740
Ludwig van Beethoven Piano Sonata No. 4 in E-flat major, Op. 7 1796
Frédéric Chopin Scherzo in B-flat minor, Op. 32 1837
Scherzo in C-sharp minor, Op. 39 1839
Maurice Ravel La Valse, M. 72b 1920

Full Program (PDF)

About the Artist

Seolyeong Jeong made her solo recital debut at the age of 13 at Kumho Art Hall in Seoul, Korea. She has been a prizewinner at numerous competitions, including Grand Prizes in Korean Liszt Competition and Sungjung Competition. She won first prizes in the Connecticut Young Artist Competition, Ewha-Kyunghyang Competition, Samick-Seiler Piano Competition, Korean Chopin Competition, and Eumag Chunchu Competition. She won third prize at the 2016 New York Piano Festival and Competition and was also awarded the prize for Best Performance of a 20th Century Composition.

Ms. Jeong graduated summa cum laude from Seoul National University in 2015, where she studied with Hie-yon Choi. She received the Master of Music (2017) and the Master of Musical Arts (2018) degrees from Yale School of Music under the supervision of Peter Frankl. Ms. Jeong is now enrolled in the doctoral program at Rice University’s Shepard School of Music.