Join us on Saturday, May 22 at 3:00 pm to hear a performance of music for violin and piano. Violinist Yoon Be Kim and pianist Na Young Koo are graduate students at the Yale University School of Music.


    Ludwig van BeethovenViolin Sonata No. 9 in A major, Op. 47 “Kreutzer”1803
    Franz SchubertFantasy in C major, D. 9341827
    Pyotr Ilyich TchaikovskySouvenir d'un lieu cher, Op. 421878
    George Gershwin“It Ain't Necessarily So” (arr. Heifetz)1935

    About the Concert

    Our concerts take place at a private residence in southern Rhode Island, near the village of Peace Dale:

    103 North Road  
    South Kingstown, RI 02879 

    Map and Directions

    This performance begins at 3:00 pm. Guests should plan to arrive at least 15 minutes ahead of time. After the concert, you’ll have an opportunity to meet the artist(s) and learn about their backgrounds, interests, and career plans.

    Prior to the concert, Craig Maynard will lead a short discussion about today's program. This pre-concert event will take place at 2:00 pm, one hour before the performance.


    Advance reservations are required. If you’d like to attend this concert, send us an email and tell us the number of seats you want. If seating is available, we’ll confirm your reservation. If not, we’ll add you to the waiting list. If we confirm your reservation and you decide not to attend, please let us know so others can take your place.

    The suggested contribution is $40 per person. Contributions are collected at the door. We accept cash, personal checks, and credit cards.

    About the Artists

    Yoon Be Kim

    A native of South Korea, Yoon Be Kim began violin studies at the age of five. She made her international debut with the Czech Virtuosi Orchestra at the age of 13 and has appeared as a soloist with the Busan Symphony Orchestra, Los Angeles Korean Philharmonic, Kyoto Philharmonic Chamber Orchestra, and Waterbury Symphony Orchestra.

    Ms. Kim was awarded first prizes at the Los Angeles Korean American Musicians Association Competition, NEC Bales Violin Competition, and Waterbury Symphony Concerto Competition. She has served as concertmaster of the Colburn Chamber Orchestra, NEC Philharmonia, and NEC Chamber Orchestra.

    Yoon Be Kim earned her Bachelor of Music degree from New England Conservatory under Malcolm Lowe, former concertmaster of Boston Symphony Orchestra. She currently studies with Hyo Kang at Yale School of Music. She performs on a Miralles violin on loan from The Maestro Foundation.

    Na Young Koo

    A native of New Zealand, Na Young Koo studied piano with Qu Yong at the University of Auckland. While a student there, she was the featured soloist in performances of the Saint-Saëns Piano Concerto No. 2 at Auckland Town Hall and the Beethoven Piano Concerto No. 3 at Raye Freedman Arts Centre.

    Na Young Koo began her graduate studies at the New England Conservatory under the tutelage of Bruce Brubaker. After earning a masters degree at NEC, she entered the Cleveland Institute of Music to study for an Artist Diploma with Antonio Pompa-Baldi. Ms. Koo is now studying with Boris Berman and Wei-Yi Yang at the Yale University School of Music.