Composer Work Catalog
Franz Joseph Haydn String Quartet No. 42 in C major Op.54/2
Leoš Janáček String Quartet No. 2, Intimate Letters JW VII/13
Antonín Dvořák String Quartet No. 13 in G major Op.106

Full Program (PDF)

About the Artists

Jiří Pinkas, viola ∙ Jakub Fišer, violin ∙ Štěpán Ježek, violin ∙ Štěpán Doležal, cello
Source: Kamil Ghais

Founded by four young musicians in 1998 at the Academy of Performing Arts in Prague, the Bennewitz Quartet was named after the famous Czech violinist and teacher Antonin Bennewitz (1833-1926), and established its reputation by winning two leading chamber music competitions – the Osaka (2005) and the Premio Paolo Borciani (2008).

“The Bennewitz will soon have established itself at the very top of the international quartet world” wrote the Stuttgarter Zeitung, while the Frankfurter Allgemeine raved that “…the music was remarkable not just for the clarity of structure, but for the beautiful tone palette and purity of intonation in its execution. Only very rarely does one experience such skillfully crafted and powerful harmonies … Great art!”

The Bennewitz Quartet is represented in North America by Shupp Artists.