Join us on Saturday, April 10 at 3:00 pm to hear violinist Sophia Anna Szokolay and pianist Kaliya Kalcheva perform a program of works for violin and keyboard by French composers.

Prior to the concert, URI Professor Dr. Mark Comerford will lead a discussion about today’s program. If you’d like to attend this pre-concert event, please plan to arrive early at 1:30 pm.


    Claude DebussyViolin Sonata, L. 1401917
    Gabriel FauréViolin Sonata No. 1 in A major, Op. 131876
    César FranckMélancolie1886
    Maurice RavelViolin Sonata No. 2 in G major, M 771927
    Maurice RavelTzigane1924

    About the Concert

    Our concerts take place at a private residence in southern Rhode Island. The street address is 103 North Road, Wakefield, RI 02879.

    Map and Directions

    This performance begins at 3:00 pm. Guests should plan to arrive at least 30 minutes ahead of time. After the concert, you’ll have an opportunity to meet the artists and learn about their backgrounds, interests, and career plans.

    Advance reservations are required. If you’d like to attend this concert, send us an email and tell us the number of seats you want. If seating is available, we’ll confirm your reservation. If not, we’ll add you to the waiting list. If we confirm your reservation and you decide not to attend, please let us know so others can take your place.

    The suggested contribution for this concert is $40 per person. We also offer a three-concert pass for a contribution of $100. Contributions are collected at the door. We accept cash, personal checks, and credit cards.

    About the Artists

    Sophia Anna Szokolay

    Canadian violinist Sophia Anna Szokolay balances a demanding schedule as a performer and educator in Toronto and New York. Equally at home in solo and chamber music repertoire, she has performed as soloist with orchestras across Canada, Eastern United States, and Hungary. Sophia is a recipient of numerous prizes and awards, including a Juilliard Career Grant, the Borromeo Guest Artist Award, and top prizes at the Plowman, Fischoff, and Remember Enescu International Competitions.

    Sophia began her violin studies by choice at the age of 3, the fourth generation of a musical family. Her proudest musical moment was performing her grandfather Sandor Szokolay’s Violin Concerto with the Győr Philharmonic Orchestra in Hungary, which was the last concert he attended before peacefully passing in 2013.

    Sophia holds a Bachelor of Music degree from the New England Conservatory with a minor in music theory. Her teachers included Catherine Cho, Victor Dancheko, Miriam Fried, Barry Shiffman and Donald Weilerstein. She is currently finishing a Master of Music degree at The Juilliard School as a Irene Diamond Graduate Fellow.

    Kaliya Kalcheva

    Since winning her first piano competition at the age of 6, New York-based Bulgarian pianist Kaliya Kalcheva holds 15 first prizes from international competitions and a Grand Prix at the 13th Evangelia Tjiarri International Piano Competition in Cyprus. In 2014 Kaliya was recognized as the youngest recipient of an honorary diploma from the Ministry of Culture in Bulgaria for her high artistic achievements in the preceding year. ​

    Kaliya has performed in major venues, such as the Center of Fine Arts in Brussels, Bulgaria Hall in Sofia, and Lincoln Center’s Alice Tully Hall where Kaliya played Beethoven’s Piano Concerto No. 2 with the Juilliard Orchestra under maestro Karina Canellakis, as Juilliard’s concerto competition winner. ​ An active chamber musician, Kaliya is a prizewinner of the Fuchs Chamber Music Competition and the Balsam Duo Competition with cellist Liav Kerbel.

    A graduate of the National Music School “Lyubomir Pipkov” in Sofia in the class of Milena Mollova, Kaliya completed her Bachelor of Music from the Manhattan School of Music, where she was awarded the Harold Bauer Commencement Award for “outstanding accomplishment, cooperation and promise.” Kaliya is currently finishing her Master of Music at The Juilliard School under the guidance of Stephen Hough and Matti Raekallio.